personal

More personal stuff

I was born in sunny day of August 1984 in the beautiful and rough town of Comacchio, a 12,000 people village built on water at a stone throw from the coast. My father was an accountant while my mom has always been looking after the house. Now she manages Residenza Le Saline, our family's b&b, along with my one of my brother and his family. 

Along with my brother I lunched "MaMa's" a disco bar by the beach in my home town. I was 18 at that time and I was coming back from my first study experience in the States. Maybe too young to start a business but definitely a very formative experience where i mostly learned how difficult is to coordinate a team of over 30 senior people when you're at your first job experience. MaMa's was doing very well but 6 years after my brother and I decided to sell for different reasons, mine been to dedicate myself full time to my studies in Political Science. 

Just in case you were asking yourself, in the States I was studying in Spring Valley, and extremely small town in the district of Peoria whose only notable mark in history is represented by "CAT" the caterpillars companies. It wasn't the easiest experience, I have to say, but my hosting family did everything to be like a real family by support me in every aspect of my life. We are still very much in contact right now and talk quite often. 

I always say that going to the States at that time, so young, I almost felt like Yuri Gagarin when he was sent to the space. You know where you going but you don't know if you will ever make it back. Remember, Internet, in 2002, was slow and really expensive!  

So I found myself at 20 years old in Bologna, basically a students paradise where we literally owned the city. I used to work in weeknights to pay for my study and keep my little pot of money untouched for future needs. I have to say it was really a great time. 

I graduated in 2009 and moved to Forli, where I started my MA in Mass Media and Politics. Forli is small town with Italy's best school of Political Science. There I won a scholarship for a year study at Indiana University in Bloomington, one of US best campuses, where I had the opportunity to meet Nobel prize winner Elinor Ostrom. 

On my way back, I stopped in London and never left since then as documented in this blog post

In my free time, I tend to keep myself busy by enjoying my friend's company, reading online, watching series and movies. I also hike from time to time, I did a small part of the Appalachian Trail, hiked Cornwall, the Isles of Scilly and the Lake District. I also love sailing and teach myself new skills.

10847324_10206418917577583_4605118137880010880_o.jpg

In the past, i've taught Backgammon in order to get into music festivals for free and I've co-written a book about the history and culture of Turkey published by ISIAMED that was presented in the Italian Parliament building. 

For more questions and info, please do not hesitate to get in touch.

My professional me

20120327_093259 (1).jpg

I've decided to write a blog post about me, so that only the bravest of you, the ones that are not satisfied by the "about me" page and the most curious would get to know me better. 

I moved to London by "accident" in a sunny day of June 2011 after a very brief stay at home, in Italy, while I was on my way back from the United States. I say "by accident" because London was never in plans. I've actually been quite averse to the idea of leaving in such a big city, but a job offer is very difficult to decline, especially in such difficult time for my country's economy. 

So after convincing my former girlfriend to pack and move to the UK, I started my adventure at GlobalWebIndex, a market research startup with the biggest study on users interaction with the Internet.

At that time it sounded like the perfect place to feed my immense curiosity and to understand the internet a little bit better.

If you ever worked in a startup, I'm sure you know that every day is never the same. Sometimes you find yourself dealing with the biggest account, the other day you're decorating the kitchen. For me it was more like one day I'd develop the content strategy, the other day I would develop the Italian Market, and then again the the after I would do something different. Tasks are infinite, almost like the thing that you can learn. The downside is that you have to learn everything by doing. But it is also the greatest way to find out about what actually interested you and what you good at. 

So it's here that I realize that I was good in creating networks, speaking in public and writing stories. The two things combined brought me to the attention of the first blog I've written for, TechEconomy, especially thanks to Stefano Epifani, the very first person who believed in me and that I will never thank enough. After a year writing for TechEconomy, a much bigger publication noticed my story, CheFuturo the most prominent publication in Italy about ICT and Innovation. This meant I was ready for bigger stages and that's how I got approached by Wired Italy to become a contributor.  


In the meantime, after 3 years, it was about time to look for new gigs and I decided to leave GlobalWebIndex to spend more time with the people I loved and gain a bit more independence. Unfortunately that didn't make a lot of economical sense, so after exactly 365 day I found myself accepting a more lucrative job. 

So I joined Seven Publishing, a content marketing agency, to work on Sainsbury's account for a 7 months interim contract. Seven has been a great experience where I also learned a lot, especially about the agency world and about FMCG industry. 

It is at that point that one of my stories made it to the most authoritative newspaper in the World, The Guardian

Now that I had a small pot of money in pockets I could finally start chasing my dream job again. And that's how I got at iStarter. I always wanted to work for startups. It was actually my dream to be able to help young entrepreneurs with my skills and area of expertise. After accepting a huge salary cut that I was ready to trade for a better work-life balance, I got the keys of their marketing department. The experience unfortunately didn't turn out as expected, but i made me a lot more connections and I had the chance to widen my network.

And here I am now, with a little treasure of experiences gained in 5 years working in different environments and wearing different hats. Thanks to this experience I'm now able to help companies managing their everyday marketing activities, media relations and PR. 

Also writing for Wired and The Guardian, opened many doors to me including the one to the world's biggest tech publication, TechCrunch. 

Watch this space for more updates and do not hesitate to get in touch to ask more informations.